January Peace Challenge: Acts of Kindness

bannerPlease clicky click on the below link to join this fabulous peace spreading!

Kozo’s Link

  Bloggers for Peace (B4Peace) 2013 started with this very first challenge.

“For this challenge write about a daily/weekly gesture or act of kindness that you perform to create peace in your home and/or community.” -Kozo

Each day when I wake, my eyes open and I am alive. I can motion my entire body the way my brain signals my limbs to move and when I wish to speak, the words flow from my tongue clearly and I am understood.

Once upon a time, I woke up and was alive— only, my limbs would not move the way my brain signaled and when I spoke, my words did not flow from my tongue clearly.

My family guided me back into a bearable existence.

Strangers in a hospital placed me securely on a path to recovery

fellow patients were constant reminders, home is where I wanted to be.

Each day when I wake, my eyes open and I am alive. I am a respecter of life and the act of kindness is bestowing onto my mind, brain, body and soul the will to survive each and every day, which quite frankly brings peace upon myself and all who come into contact with my being…here.

“The great thing about an attitude is that it’s yours and you can change it.” Joyce Meyer

  forpeace6

About 1girl4adamwest

I enjoy reading.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to January Peace Challenge: Acts of Kindness

  1. andy1076 says:

    Hear Hear! well said 🙂

  2. utesmile says:

    Isn’t it wonderful to wake up and be fully alive! Celebrating each day the gift of life and being thankful for. I can see you know exactly how it feels! Have an amazing day!

  3. poojycat says:

    beautiful words Marie, straight from your heart – indeed you are a peace spreader! and i so much like this quote of Joyce Meyer! 🙂

  4. Inspiring words Marie. You tell so much in few words. The message is loud and clear. Each is a gift to be cherished and the peace you feel should be shared. Beautiful.

  5. Beautiful celebration of life, Marie 🙂

  6. To really know you are alive, when once you were not, is something that many take for granted, or don’t even question if they are – or not. It’s good to know within yourself what that difference is, and finally what being alive is really meant to feel like! You’ve said it so well here! Wishing your days to be a truly alive one for many years! 🙂

    • You express perfectly the sentiments at the core of true realization, “…It’s good to know within yourself what that difference is…” Thank you for always understanding my thoughts (((hugs)))!!!!

  7. Claudia says:

    Beautiful words. I especially like “the act of kindness is bestowing onto my mind, brain, body and soul the will to survive each and every day”. 🙂

    • Claudia, I am extremely happy our paths have crossed. You hone into the exact parts of my writings which brings me tears when i write them yet, peace when I finally let them out and on top of all this, your writings/words move me. What a gift!!! Thank YOU!!!!

      • Claudia says:

        Your comment made me smile. You are very sweet. Thank you! I also enjoy reading your posts! Blogging is a wonderful medium for self-expression. I’m very grateful that it exists. {{{hug}}}

  8. Kozo Hattori says:

    I never knew this part of your past, 1G4AW. Thank you for sharing. Your words and story make me grateful for every breath, keystroke, and eye movement. What a wonderful journey you have been on. I love the gratitude you feel for your family and those who helped you in so many ways. {{{hugs}}} Kozo

    • Yes, I was in an induced coma for almost a month in October 2010 and when I woke up and they took me off life support…I can’t even put into words how my mind struggled to grasp and process what had happened and what was to happen next. I shall email you one day with details. (((hugs)))

Leave a Reply

