The Dash

The Dash

by Linda Ellis

1997

 I read of a man who stood to speak

 at the funeral of his friend.

 He referred to the dates on her tombstone

 from the beginning…to the end.

He noted that first came the date of her birth

 and spoke of the following date with tears,

 but he said what mattered most of all

 was the dash between those years.

For that dash represents all the time

 that she spent alive on earth…

 and now only those who loved her

 know what that little line is worth.

For it matters not, how much we own;

 the cars…the house…the cash.

 What matters is how we live and love

 and how we spend our dash.

 ♥

So think about this long and hard…

 are there things you’d like to change?

 For you never know how much time is left.

 That can still be rearranged

 ♥

If we could just slow down enough

 to consider what’s true and real,

 and always try to understand

 the way other people feel.

And be less quick to anger,

 and show appreciation more

 and love the people in our lives

 like we’ve never loved before.

If we treat each other with respect,

 and more often wear a smile…

 remembering that this special dash

might only last a little while.

 ♥

So, when your eulogy’s being read

 with your life’s actions to rehash…

 would you be proud of the things they say

 about how you spent your dash?

 ♥

 

About 1girl4adamwest

I enjoy reading.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Dash

  1. diannegray says:

    This is fantastic – it really makes you think! 🙂

    I needed this today. Thank you

  2. stuff I said says:

    Wonderful post! Thank you for sharing it. 🙂

  3. I love this story and was excited to share with you!

  4. poojycat says:

    Amazing post Marie! very thoughtful 🙂 Love it!

  5. Thank you! It’s such an engaging story. So happy you enjoyed it!! YAY!!!

  6. A fine and thoughtful post, deep and inspirational, Marie. Thanks for sharing.

  7. Thank you, my friend! When I first read this writing it blew me away with the raw honesty of the impact it left me with…deep, indeed.

  8. herkimerlove says:

    Reblogged this on herkimerlove and commented:
    🙂

  9. I’m still smiling!!!!!

  10. wackadoodle! says:

    oh my god, you’re just so amazing. smh how do you do it?! hahaha
    love visiting your blog, makes me (and a heck of a lot of other people) smile, even if its for just one second 😀

    • When I first read “The Dash” I was blown away and I have always kept this Poem in my mind. Also, You are so very kind to me and I thank you for giving me confidence to keep sharing the views I see from the windows of my mind.

Leave a Reply

